WNBA reveals its top 20 players list

The WNBA just dropped its top 20 of the first 20 years list of players, via SportsCenter:

The WNBA Top 20@20 presented by Verizon includes nine current players: Seimone Augustus, Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Maya Moore, Candace Parker, Cappie Pondexter, Diana Taurasi and Lindsay Whalen. Eleven former players are also among the honorees: Cynthia Cooper, Yolanda Griffith, Becky Hammon, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Deanna Nolan, Ticha Penicheiro, Katie Smith, Sheryl Swoopes, Tina Thompson and Teresa Weatherspoon.

All very deserving players, and I have no overt objections to anyone on the list. But I would have replaced Siemone Augustus and Cappie Pondexter with Delisha Milton-Jones and either Chamique Holdsclaw or Angel McCoughtry.

I also question the voting panel:

Voting for the league’s WNBA Top 20@20 presented by Verizon will be conducted by a 15-member committee composed of women’s basketball pioneers Carol Blazejowski and Ann Meyers Drysdale; current and former WNBA head coaches Van Chancellor, Michael Cooper, Anne Donovan and Cheryl Reeve; and media members Doris Burke, Doug Feinberg, Mel Greenberg, Melanie Jackson, Howard Megdal, LaChina Robinson, Michelle Smith, Mechelle Voepel and Pam Ward.

For a 100 percent stats-based look at the WNBA top 20, womenshoopsworld.com did one a month ago.