Breanna Stewart is the McDonald’s All-American Morgan Wootten Player of the Year

From McDsAAG headquarters:

Breanna Stewart, the 2012 Naismith and WBCA Player of the Year from Cicero-North Syracuse High School in North Syracuse, N.Y., is the 11th annual female winner, joining Elizabeth Williams (2011), Maya Moore (2007), Tina Charles (2006), Candace Parker (2004) and Ivory Latta (2003), among others. Stewart won the honor over finalists Malina Howard (Twinsburg High School – Twinsburg, Ohio), Moriah Jefferson (Home Schooled – Glenn Heights, Texas), Alexis Jones (MacArthur High School – Irving, Texas), Jewell Loyd (Niles West High School – Lincolnwood, Ill.) and Morgan Tuck (Bolingbrook High School – Bolingbrook, Ill.).

The Morgan Wootten Award is given to the best male and female McDonald’s All American players who exemplify outstanding character, exhibit leadership and embody the values of being a student-athlete in the classroom and the community. McDonald’s established the award in Wootten’s honor to pay tribute to his unprecedented achievements as a teacher and coach. The official award presentation will take place at the McDonald’s All American Games awards banquet on March 27 in Chicago, Ill…….

“Being named a McDonald’s All American is a great honor, but to be chosen as Player of the Year makes it even more special,” said Stewart. “This is an award I’ll remember for the rest of my life, and I’m so grateful to my coaches, trainers and family members who have been right behind me every step of the way.”