Big East night, and awards

Big night for the Big East:

#3 Notre Dame dropped #4 UConn 72-59, and clinched the Big East title. Wow.

Surging #25 St. John’s beat #13 Georgetown, 54-45.

#17 Louisville over Seton Hall; #20 Rutgers defeated Marquette; #18 DePaul took down Cincinnati; Villanova held on to beat Syracuse.

The Big East Tournament bracket is set.

Also…..#1 Baylor hung on to win again – this time over Texas A&M.

Award time:

The Big 10 player of the year is Ohio State’s Samantha Prahalis. The entire first team:

Jordan Hooper, Nebraska
Tayler Hill, Ohio State
Alex Bentley, Penn State
Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State

Coach of the year is Penn State’s Coquese Washington.

The ACC has announced its first, second and third teams. Here’s the first:

Chelsea Gray, So., G, Duke
Shenise Johnson, Sr., G, Miami
Alyssa Thomas, So., F, Maryland
Elizabeth Williams, Fr., C, Duke
Riquna Williams, Sr., G, Miami

Pat Summitt:

If only Pat Summitt could coach forever, muses one writer.


Lady Vol commit Bashaara Graves talks about her pre-game music rituals.


Dishin & Swishin talks to Sparks Coach Carol Ross.