AP All-American team, and other major awards

This year’s team is Maya Moore, Jantel Lavender, Jeannette Pohlen, Danielle Adams and Brittney Griner.

The second team is Danielle Robinson of Oklahoma, Amber Harris of Xavier, Courtney Vandersloot of Gonzaga, Nnemkadi Ogwumike of Stanford and Jasmine Thomas of Duke.

The third team is Tennessee’s Shekinna Stricklen, Miami’s Shenise Johnson, Kentucky’s Victoria Dunlap, Xavier’s Ta’Shia Phillips and Notre Dame’s Skylar Diggins.

The preseason All-America team was Moore, Griner, Lavender, Ogwumike and Robinson.

Griner was named 2011 WNCA National Defensive Player of the Year.

Illinois State Coach Stephanie Glance is the 2011 Maggie Dixon Division I Rookie Coach of the Year.