Wooden Award finalists announced

The list:

Name Ht. Class Pos. University Conference

Danielle Adams 6-1 Sr. F/C Texas A&M Big 12
Skylar Diggins 5-9 So. G Notre Dame Big East
Victoria Dunlap 6-1 Sr. F Kentucky SEC
Dawn Evans* 5-7 Sr. G James Madison CAA
Brittney Griner 6-8 So. C Baylor Big 12
Amber Harris* 6-5 Sr. F Xavier Atlantic 10
Amy Jaeschke 6-5 Sr. C Northwestern Big Ten
Shenise Johnson 5-11 Jr. G Miami ACC
Kalisha Keane 6-1 Sr. F Michigan State Big Ten
Jantel Lavender* 6-4 Sr. C Ohio State Big Ten
Maya Moore* 6-0 Sr. F Connecticut Big East
Nnemkadi Ogwumike* 6-2 Jr. F Stanford Pac-10
Kayla Pedersen* 6-4 Jr. F Stanford Pac-10
Ta’Shia Phillips* 6-6 Jr. C Xavier Atlantic 10
Jeanette Pohlen 6-0 Sr. G Stanford Pac-10
Danielle Robinson* 5-9 Sr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Sugar Rodgers 5-5 So. G Georgetown Big East
Shekinna Stricklen 6-2 Jr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Jasmine Thomas* 5-9 Sr. G Duke ACC
Courtney Vandersloot* 5-8 Sr. G Gonzaga West Coast

A lot of repeat nominees, as indicated by the asterisk. Ballots will be accepted for the next two weeks before the winner is named.

Coaching changes:

Beth Dunkenberger has resigned as Virginia Tech’s coach after seven years.

Debbie Ryan, who is stepping down as Virginia’s coach after 34 years, is calling her tenure there the best years of her life.

Cappie Pondexter of the New York Liberty has apologized for her comments on twitter the other day that implied Japan deserved Friday’s tsumani there.