More all-conference awards

The Southeastern Conference released its all-conference list today, and what a sweep for Tennessee. Pat Summitt won coach of the year, Shekinna Stricklen is player of the year, and Meighan Simmons took freshman of the year. It’s the first time since 1998 that the Vols have swept all three awards….back then it was Chamique Holdsclaw as POY and Tamika Cathings as FOY. Tennesee wasted no time in getting the “2011” up on their banner inside Thompson-Boling Arena. Wow.

The West Coast Conference has announced its All-Conference teams.

The Atlantic Coast Conference has also named its teams.

Other college items:

Excellent page on ESPN with all the major conferences and the brackets that have been released so far. Bookmark this page.

Bummer for Melissa Jones of Baylor, who will have to sit out senior night this week due to a concussion she sustained in Sunday’s game.

Ta’Shia Phillips of Xavier is one of a kind:

“She’s such a great player, and the reason she’s such a great player is she’s so relentless in how she plays and how she approaches the game,” Xavier coach Kevin McGuff said. “She’s a perfectionist, and she just doesn’t let a day go by where she’s not trying to get better, not trying to impact our team in a positive way.

“You can just see when she plays, I don’t know that there’s a post payer in America who plays harder or is more relentless about just being a dominant player.”

It’s so good to read something like that.

Meanwhile, Ohio State’s Jantel Lavender is in a league of her own.

Remember the Feb. 14 game between Maryland Eastern Shore and Bethune-Cookman that was stopped after players began fighting on-court? It’s been rescheduled. (Why, oh why?)


Swin Cash has signed a multi-year contract to continue with the Seattle Storm.

Tamika Catchings blogs, and bless her heart but she is determined that her non-profit foundation to help children be successful.

And what do you think about this?:

Bowling Green State University athletic director Greg Christopher has been named chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee for next school year. He’s the first male to serve as chair.