Say No League set for championships next Saturday

In the College/Open Division today, defending champions LA Spirit defeated the Showstoppers and T.E.A.M. ’09 in the quarter and semifinals to advance to the championship game Aug. 15.

On the other side of the bracket, LA Fastbreak beat Team Excel and the Toros to earn their spot in the final round. The game will be 2 p.m. at LA Trade Tech College, on the corner of 23rd and Flower Streets just south of downtown. Rosters, by jersey number, are as follows:


Mykiea Russell – Umpqua Community College
Brittany Brumfield – Trinity Valley Community College
Brittany Spears – University of Colorado
Angela Garrett – Cal State University San Bernardino
Zeda Slaton – Undecided
Michelle Duckworth – University of California Santa Barbara
Lakaisha Davis – Undecided
Zipporah Chase – Cal State University Dominguez Hills
Crystal Givens-Johnson – Long Beach State University
Ennisha Kyles – Cal State University Dominguez Hills
Christina Nzekwe – UCLA

Coach: Louie Nelson

LA Spirit

LaSharee Christian – Jackson State University
Tierra Henderson – UCLA
Jonae Ervin – Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Candice Allen – Cal Poly Pomona
Aleisha Hurd – San Francisco State
Clarlee Underwood – Cal State Fullerton
Morgan Bennett – Talladega University
Toni Thomas – Cal State Fullerton
Amber Pruitt – Cal State Fullerton

Coach: Reginald Snell

In the high school Division yesterday, T’s Titans put away the Falcons and the California Blaze to advance to the championship game at 1 p.m., before the College/Open Division plays.

Fastbreak overcame the Lady Knights and Fundamental Hoops to claim their spot in the finals. Rosters, by jersey number, are as follows:

T’s Titans

Brittanie Garcia – Alhambra HS
Eva Zhou – Alhambra HS
Rhamnii Haynes – Taft HS
Amari Hampton – Taft HS
Taylor Valdez – Thousand Oaks HS
Erica Norman – Chino Hills HS
Chantel Dooley – Montclair HS
Jennifer Imaa – Alhambra HS
Sydney Hubbard – Notre Dame Academy
Angelica Sahagen – Alemany HS
Nicole Packard – Thousand Oaks HS

Coach: Therese Berner


Aaron Heard – Serra HS
Clelsea Calleja – Notre Dame Academy
Megan Wright – Serra HS
Ashley Bruner – Serra HS
Ea Shoushtari – LACES
Rachel Totten – LACES
Jaina Abdul-Mansour – Beverly Hills HS
Raven Gammage – St. Mary’s Academy
Bria Richardson – Serra HS
Nicole Collins – Serra HS
Christian Pickett – Serra HS
Taylor Reid – Serra HS

Coach: McKinsey Hadley

Geez, looking at the high school rosters and how far apart the participants live away from each other, I wonder how they practice.

Story on the league.

Say No League website.