When you have a bunch of consecutive losses…….

A week ago tonight, North Carolina surprised us by getting blown out by Connecticut. This past week they increased that surprise level tenfold by losing twice more, to Georgia Tech and Maryland. The formerly second-ranked team now sits in the tenth spot, according to today’s AP poll.

Apparently Coach Sylvia Hatchell was on “Sports Center” tonight saying the losses were on the heels (no pun intended) of a “tough schedule.”

I don’t know – does this schedule look that tough before the past week?

Tues. Nov. 4 Carson-Newman (Exhibition) Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 7 Premier Players (Exhibition) Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Women’s National Invitational Tournament
Fri. Nov. 14 Western Carolina Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 16 WNIT Second Round Chapel Hill 5 p.m.
Mon. Nov. 17 Kennesaw State Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Wed./Thurs. Nov. 19/20 WNIT Semifinals TBA TBA
Sun. Nov. 23 WNIT Finals TBA TBA
Tues. Nov. 25 Wofford Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Junkanoo Jam
Fri. Nov. 28 vs. Pacific Grand Bahama Island 8:30 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 29 vs. Arkansas/Oregon State Grand Bahama Island TBA
ACC/Big Ten Challenge
Wed. Dec. 3 at Ohio State Columbus, Ohio Big Ten 9 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 13 Coastal Carolina Chapel Hill Noon
Mon. Dec. 15 Arkansas Pine-Bluff Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 20 vs. Illinois* Myrtle Beach, S.C. 3 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 28 Western Michigan Chapel Hill 2 p.m.
Tues. Dec. 30 Austin Peay Chapel Hill 2 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 8 at Clemson Clemson, S.C. 7 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 11 NC State Chapel Hill RSN 1 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 16 Virginia Chapel Hill RSN 8:30 p.m.
Mon. Jan. 19 Connecticut Chapel Hill ESPN2 7 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 22 at Georgia Tech Atlanta, Ga. 7 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 25 at Maryland College Park, Md. ESPN2 7 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 29 Wake Forest Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 1 North Carolina Central Chapel Hill 2 p.m.
Thurs. Feb. 5 Virginia Tech Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Mon. Feb. 9 Duke Chapel Hill ESPN2 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 13 at Florida State Tallahassee, Fla. RSN 6:30 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 15 Georgia Tech Chapel Hill RSN 3 p.m.
Thurs. Feb. 19 at Boston College Chestnut Hill, Mass. 7 p.m.
Mon. Feb. 23 at NC State Raleigh, N.C. RSN 7 p.m.
Thurs. Feb. 26 Miami Chapel Hill 7 p.m.
Sun. March 1 at Duke Durham, N.C. FSN

I guess I’m wondering how they got to be ranked second in the first place.

Speaking of a buttload of losses, Rutgers dropped out of the top 25 today, but hope is alive. Coach C. Vivian Stringer has announced she’s changing up the team’s offense to “dribble-drive motion.” This is great to hear. Stringer has been due for a change for a while now. Let’s hope it takes.

Story link: http://www.nj.com/rutgerswomen/index.ssf/2009/01/vivian_stringer_enacted_an_ins.html

LEAVE A REPLY